Help to Buy: Equity Loan Agents

Find the Help to Buy agent in your area

Building exterior - Help to Buy homes available on Share to Buy

What is the Help to Buy: Equity Loan

Help to Buy is a government backed scheme which aims to help first time buyers get a foot onto the property ladder. The Help to Buy: Equity Loan enables purchasers to buy a new build home with the help of an equity loan, also known as shared equity.

The government provides a loan of up to 20% of the home (or 40% in London), so the purchaser only needs to raise a 5% deposit, with a 75% mortgage (or 55% in London) making up the rest. You can find out more about the scheme via our Help to Buy index.

What are Help to Buy agents?

If you’re hoping to purchase a home through the government-backed equity loan, you will need to apply via one of three Help to Buy agents.

These agents have been appointed by the government to offer the scheme in England and are on hand to support you in the purchase of your new build home using a Help to Buy: Equity Loan.

The agents can guide you through the options available, check that you meet the relevant eligibility and affordability criteria, and can support you in the process of purchasing a home through the scheme.

Who is my Help to Buy agent?

Agent for the North

Plus Dane Housing are the Help to Buy agent for the following areas:

  • Cheshire
  • Cumbria
  • Durham
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Merseyside
  • Northumberland
  • North Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire
  • Tyne and Wear
  • West Yorkshire

Agent for The Midlands and London

BPHA are the Help to Buy agent for the following areas:

  • Derbyshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • London
  • Northamptonshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • Worcestershire

Agent for the South

Abri (previously Radian Group) are the Help to Buy agent for the following areas:

  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cornwall
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Hampshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Norfolk
  • Oxfordshire
  • Somerset
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • West Sussex
  • Wiltshire

Share to Buy is a one stop shop for buyers looking to get on the property ladder. To find out more about the Help to Buy: Equity Loan, visit our FAQs and guides section, or search for Help to Buy homes here.